Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 06:18:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsUPDATED: One-Eyed Monsters
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: UPDATED: One-Eyed Monsters  (Read 13538 times)
Peevish
Level 4

View Profile WWW
« on: March 07, 2010, 05:38:00 PM »

UPDATE

8-Bit Funding Page

Since this devlog began, OEM has been through 2 coders. minasss got a full-time job, so he left the project and Fareed took over. We scrapped the Python engine and started building in FlashPunk. Then Fareed got a full-time job and left the project. By that point Game Maker Mac had come out, so I started learning it and am, for the time being at least, making the game by myself.

What is it?

It's a low-res adventure game with 4 characters. It's being built simultaneously on Windows and Mac in Game Maker, so far by just me, but I'll probably enlist help for certain parts of the game.

The game relishes in the specifics: it takes place in the San Francisco Bay Area, with each location so far being adapted from real locations and neighborhoods. The city, much of the world in fact, is now occupied by the titular monsters. They live, they have friendships, they have insecurities, they have hobbies, they pass the time, they laugh and cry and sleep and make things.

They also eat humans whenever they can catch them.

Human society is mostly gone, which means the water is running cleaner, the hole in the ozone layer is slowly healing itself, and endangered species populations are on the rise. What's left of humanity is mostly young people from 10 to 30; older, slower people are the first to get eaten.

How Does It Play?

You control four main characters: