Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411273 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 12:38:22 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsVector Arithmetic For The Complete Novice
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Vector Arithmetic For The Complete Novice  (Read 22928 times)
Theotherguy
Level 1

View Profile
« on: July 31, 2010, 06:05:57 PM »

Intro
If there was one field of mathematics that has helped me the most in game development and many other areas of computer programming, it is linear algebra. Calculus and discrete math are all fine and good, but there are so many things that can be represented easily and beautifully as vectors in game programming, that knowledge of linear algebra has been completely invaluable to me.

So, I thought I would make this tutorial to help complete math novices with the basic concepts of vector arithmetic and linear algebra.

This tutorial will only assume that you know something about programming, and a little bit about physics.

Part I: Pong
Let's say that you're writing a clone of pong. Pong is a very simple game, and it's often one of the first that game programmers write. It was my first game, as well.

For those not familiar, pong is a game in which a ball bounces around the screen. Two players with paddles face off on opposite sides of the screen, and try to knock the ball  onto the opposite side of the screen before the other player can stop it.

It looks kind of like this:

How would we go about coding this sort of game? Assuming that we have a way of drawing circles and rectangles, a good idea would first be to store the position of the ball on the screen.