Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 02:45:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignHelp to expand a prototype :)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Help to expand a prototype :)  (Read 2851 times)
Mr.Flibble
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: September 08, 2010, 12:54:17 PM »

Hi guys.

I'm pretty new to game creation and game design although I've been playing games for decades now.  I've got a couple of games in various stages of creation, but most have been done before and probably better too, so my enthusiasm quickly wares off.

However I have a prototype I made a while back that I would love to expand into a full game, but the game creates a few problems with how to structure it properly.

Basically it's a collect'emp up platformer but the whole level is created using Cellular Automata.  The platforms can be born, die due to overcrowding or live on for a generation.

What I'm looking for is a few ideas on how to structure the game, since you're never quite sure how long the level will survive before dying out it can cause a few problems. 

I have a few but they are rather cliche/well used in the gaming world.

1.  Timer based game - Collect as many top hats in x minutes as you can to get a high score.

2.  Free play but end the level when <x number of platforms exsists.

You can download the windows only Sad prototype HERE

Aim - Collect the top hats for points.  Option 2 on the main menu has a crude and overpowered combo system.  The line always points to the top hats.  You can wrap the screen too ala Asteroids.

Controls -

Arrows Keys = Move
Z = Jump & Double Jump
C = Use Umbrella to float

or

Watch the YouTube Video

Sorry for rambling but any ideas/help/feedback would be great to help out a rather daft new game creater/designer.