Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411478 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58424 Members - Latest Member: FlyingFreeStudios

April 23, 2024, 08:25:47 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsProject Cold Wave [PC - Windows - C++]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Project Cold Wave [PC - Windows - C++]  (Read 3990 times)
erakkun
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 19, 2011, 09:03:47 AM »

This is a project I've been working ever since 2009, and it won't be finished in a long time. Reason for this is the size of the story, and not to mention, I'm working on this all alone. Everything except for the music and sounds will be made by me.

> Technical information
I'm making the game with C++ and SDL-libraries. The game is 2D action/adventure game viewed from top-down view. Talking characters are seen as separate "talking heads", though they aren't animated.

Game's world is half open and half closed: you move forward from city to another, and in each of these cities you're able to move freely. Because of the story however, you may not be able to go back to the previous cities.

You play the game by running around, activating events and sometimes fighting against some characters and beasts. There's a separate Final Fantasy styled turn-based battlesystem for that too.

> World
The people in the game are living in a fictional planet called Alpisha, where it's always winter. In Alpisha there are no countries with their own cultures, but it's divided in 100 sectors. Not all sectors are dominated by winter, because there are sectors with volcanic activity (Volcano Sectors). Bad thing is, these sectors are surrounded by "Storm Rings", which make it difficult to travel from and in to these sectors. Some sectors - exactly 21 - are also completely taken by water (Sea Sector).