Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411433 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58418 Members - Latest Member: Pix_RolleR

April 20, 2024, 06:25:18 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudiolearning how to arrange music, please give advice
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: learning how to arrange music, please give advice  (Read 1704 times)
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« on: May 14, 2012, 09:42:52 PM »

my father (who is a music composer in the classical style but has never used a computer) wrote some songs for my game back in 2007/2008, and only in the last month did i actually start typing up the sheet music into the computer and trying to select instruments and arrange/orchestrate them

i have some basic music knowledge (i can read sheet music, for instance, and can play the piano a bit) but never really spent much time arranging music before, so i've been trying to pick it up as i go

i may just give up and get someone else to arrange the music, but i wanted to at least try my hand at it

here's my current efforts, for you audio masters out there please give advice for where i went wrong and where i can improve on these arrangements: http://soundcloud.com/saturateddreamers

i used musescore for this (notation software, open source), along with a free soundfont i found online which was better than the musescore default soundfont. i don't own arrangement software such as fl studio, or else i'd use something like that

i realize that arrangement is an art in itself and can't really be learned so quickly, but i figured posting this here couldn't hurt and maybe it'd get some advice that would improve these arrangements

JWK5
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 11:02:59 PM »

How to Create Cool Music for Videogames: It is a manual for PXTone that has some nice examples for arranging music.

On melody creation: