Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411594 Posts in 69387 Topics- by 58444 Members - Latest Member: YomiKu_0

May 08, 2024, 03:38:44 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Sharpening textures in a 2D engine (openGL)
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Sharpening textures in a 2D engine (openGL)  (Read 6315 times)
Seiseki
Level 5

Starmancer

View Profile WWW
« on: June 19, 2012, 06:49:49 AM »

I'm not a coder, but I do have some insight, albeit limited.

Now for the game we're developing, we're using openGL and quite large 2D textures that are scaled down.
Now the textures quickly loose their crispness when the game resizes them, with bilinear interpolation.
We're resizing to .25, .5 or .75 and never anything in between.
Using nearest would just make them too jaggy, so the only option left would be having a sharpening algorithm. Not in realtime, that would be silly.. But perhaps when the game loads and the assets are
adjusted for the current resolution.

Does this sound reasonable?
Does anyone have any experience with HD graphics in a 2D engine? Especially the part about adjusting for different resolutions.

Richard Kain
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 07:07:57 AM »

I've actually played around with this a bit myself, but I'm afraid I never found a solution. In the end, I just accepted the jaggies and moved on. I just don't think OpenGL is designed for scaling textures without some manner of interpolation. Adjusting anti-aliasing won't solve the problem. I'm thinking the solution you've already thought of is the best option. (having multiple-resolution versions of textures for different window resolutions)
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 07:16:05 AM »