Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 01:44:27 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopFirst time pixelling, shoot em up sprites
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: First time pixelling, shoot em up sprites  (Read 2840 times)
phi6
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: July 19, 2012, 02:23:52 AM »

Hi everyone,

As a programmer I've not done any pixel art before, but for my most recent project as a learning exercise I've been trying to make my own graphics. I've been working on a 3x3 oversized pixel shoot em up for the iPhone.

Would appreciate "as honest as you like" feedback and criticism, I'm here to improve.

The one thing I'd like to say that I'm fully aware of, the parallax clouds are not properly pixelled, I used a mosaic effect which has resulted in colours that are outside of the 6 colour palette I have given myself. So that will need redoing at some point. Otherwise, please comment away, the rest I have done from scratch!

Palette:

Actual screenshots:

« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 03:12:35 AM by phi6 » Logged

TinyKeep is now on Steam!
@phi6
Conker534
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 02:36:16 AM »

First time? Its really pretty imo! I can't offer much. Just complementing how it looks.
ASnogarD
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 02:47:26 AM »

Bare in mind I aint a artist either ( or rather I am also learning  Tongue) so this is more an impression of what I feel about your art.

First up , it looks great overall but...

There is a suggestion of confusion as to the global lighting on the scene is... the player ship seems to focus the lighting in the middle, whereas some of the enemy ships lighting is on the top half.