Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

 
Advanced search

879872 Posts in 33010 Topics- by 24383 Members - Latest Member: celloe

May 25, 2013, 06:45:57 AM
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralvenuspatrol.com
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 18
Print
Author Topic: venuspatrol.com  (Read 10982 times)
sexybeastfareast
Level 0
**


View Profile Email
« on: August 18, 2012, 04:21:41 AM »

Just wondering if anyone knows anymore information on the launch of this site. It's been like a year and I haven't heard much
Logged
TeeGee
Level 10
*****


Huh?

tomek_grochowiak@op.pl
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 11:50:15 PM »

Man, it's like a WHOLE website, and with a shoestring budget of $100k it's bound to take time. Have you ever seen a website done for so little in under a year? Duh  Durr...?.
Logged

Tom Grochowiak
MoaCubeBlog | Twitter | Facebook
sexybeastfareast
Level 0
**


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2012, 12:06:07 AM »

I had no idea it takes that long to build a site. this is coming from the perspective of a comp sci student building crappy little websites/blogs in a week or so.  
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 01:35:42 AM by sexybeastfareast » Logged
TeeGee
Level 10
*****


Huh?

tomek_grochowiak@op.pl
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2012, 12:19:28 AM »

I was being sarcastic Smiley. Honestly, I have no idea what's up with Venus Patrol, but it's hard not to be cynical when it encompasses a lot of what I think is wrong with kickstarter.
Logged

Tom Grochowiak
MoaCubeBlog | Twitter | Facebook
Nix
Level 10
*****



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2012, 12:37:37 AM »

Can someone explain to me what this website is supposed to be? All I've been able to figure out is it's a "video game website."
Logged
Ashkin
Level 10
*****


king of kings


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2012, 12:41:09 AM »

Can someone explain to me what this website is supposed to be? All I've been able to figure out is it's a "video game website."
It's a spiritual successor to Boingboing Offworld.
Logged
Gainsworthy
Level 10
*****


BE ATTITUDE FOR GAINS...

afroman5k@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2012, 12:44:20 AM »

Here's the kickstarter page, with all you need to know.

I'm a little confused myself. Been 10 months.

Also, is it in some way related to Pishtaco's Venus Patrol? I figure it is - the branding and name is more than co-incidental, but...
Logged
allen
Level 10
*****



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2012, 12:49:33 AM »

I dunno but I'd be pissed if I was one of the 12 $3k+ donors.

and I think he just liked the name/brand of Venus Patrol and asked the guy to use it.
Logged
Cow
Level 10
*****



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2012, 02:06:17 AM »

Quote
shoestring budget of $100k

wat

e: Oh, I see, this was sarcasm. Carry on.
Logged
moi
Level 10
*****


shitposting is the new black


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2012, 05:18:27 AM »

Quote
IGF Chairman
lol

I remember when game websites didn't need money to bbe started.
Now if you need to find $100k before you even start the website, then there is something wrong.
Maybe I'm going to start a kickstarter to fund my career as a casual Tigsource-poster ?
Logged

lelebæcülo
Manuel Magalhães
Level 10
*****



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2012, 08:11:26 AM »

I disagree. I got all of the Venus Patrol stuff I backed for, and as for the site I'm sure they are working on it. (they have shown the site's logotype a few days ago)
Logged

       

TeeGee
Level 10
*****


Huh?

tomek_grochowiak@op.pl
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2012, 08:17:49 AM »

Yeah, a logotype for a wordpress blog may take a year and $100k to make. Maybe they should run another kickstarter to place the logo on the website? Should take less than $50k. Also, how can it be a scam if all these celebrities in the video said this nice bearded guy is videogame Jesus? Jesus wouldn't lie to me.
Logged

Tom Grochowiak
MoaCubeBlog | Twitter | Facebook
retrohelix
Level 1
*


Hip hop array


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2012, 08:24:33 AM »

someone else do the exact same thing for less than $100, quickly gogogogo

*edit

call it venusvitriol
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 08:34:31 AM by retrohelix » Logged
Manuel Magalhães
Level 10
*****



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2012, 08:43:14 AM »

Yeah, a logotype for a wordpress blog may take a year and $100k to make.
I said the logotype thing not to justify the time and money that is going to the site, but to show that they are *still* working on it.
100K and a year for a logo is crazy, although there are logo jobs that are a lot more expensive than that, and the results aren't always pleasant. (e.g. London Olympics 2012's logo)
Logged

       

TeeGee
Level 10
*****


Huh?

tomek_grochowiak@op.pl
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2012, 08:45:33 AM »

Okay, I may be more vitriolic about it than I usually am (or maybe even should be), but this seriously rubs me the wrong way.

I mean, take this: http://www.pixelprospector.com/. Super-useful blog on indie games, with a huge library of resources, tutorials, and links to good articles. Updated frequently. Looks cool. Actually exists. No kickstarter, no $100k, no videogame celebrities behind it. Just good old effort and indie love.
Logged

Tom Grochowiak
MoaCubeBlog | Twitter | Facebook
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 18
Print
Jump to:  

Theme orange-lt created by panic