Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411431 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 20, 2024, 02:39:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Making a Top-down Survival shooter
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Making a Top-down Survival shooter  (Read 9039 times)
digitalni
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 16, 2012, 03:06:28 PM »

For some time now I've been considering how to start making a game. Namely a top down shooter. I have some experience in programming and modding, but I'm nowhere near making my own engine.
I've started writing a game design document, talked to a couple of people who might be interested in starting a new project. The main problem I'm facing right now is where could I start making the game. I've considered Game Maker and Unity. I don't know what other choices are there. I need a way to quickly prototype a 2D top down shooter, and then expand it as I learn new techniques. Can I please get some advice on what to do?

The game would be a Top down shooter with survival and rpg elements. Includes day/night cycles, food, flashlights and environmental hazards. Also has crafting, breaking down and upgrading of items. Intertwined levels that form a larger map the player has access to, but needs special equipment and must find alternate ways to get there.
The game would also have a survival mode, and possibly Co-op. In survival, the player would get cash with which he would buy weapons, equipment and ammo.

These are some of the things I'd need:

Camera control (mouse follow etc)
Player control (speed, stances)
sprite handling
character animations
weapon holding
particles and effects
Level transitions
Savegames
Game difficulty
Story/Questing
Dialogue
Item spawning
NPC spawning
Inventory system
Crafting
Moddable game resources