Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411281 Posts in 69324 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 09:31:13 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingFaster Blaster - Metroid Blaster Master mash-up with physics
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Faster Blaster - Metroid Blaster Master mash-up with physics  (Read 9959 times)
FrankForce
Level 2

This tepid water is tasteless.

View Profile WWW
« on: October 25, 2012, 11:22:39 AM »

Hi, I'm an indie developer and I've been working on an opensource 2D game engine for a few years now called The Frank Engine.  After working on so many "triple a" games with crippling iteration times and garbage code I decided to build my own dream engine from scratch in C++.  One of the biggest problems with mainstream games is they focus too much on the final result and not enough on whether development process itself is fun.  I wrote my engine so I could have more fun developing games in my spare time while also making faster progress.

Faster Blaster has been kind of the main test case for my engine for a while.  After being laid off recently from an industry job I have had plenty of time to finish this up and work on some other ideas that I've been itching to get to.  I'm posting here to hopefully get some insight from players and feedback so I can wrap up this game and move on to more ambitious and original projects using the same engine.

There is more info and videos here: http://frankforce.com/?page_id=2003
Direct download link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42191645/FasterBlaster.zip

Some specific things I'd like to know from players are...
+ How is the difficulty?  Is it too easy or hard and are there any spikes?
+ How often did you die?  If you finish the game how long did it take?
+ Is there anything distracting or annoying?