Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 05:54:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWritingWhy write for games?
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Why write for games?  (Read 10032 times)
Evan Balster
Level 10

I live in this head.

View Profile WWW
« on: January 07, 2013, 11:10:45 AM »

"If you want to tell a story, don't make a game.  Write a book.  Shoot a movie."

This is a statement I disagree with, but I'm a little challenged to articulate why.  I'm interested to hear responses from the game-narrative-writers here.

Here's my attempt at explaining why the combination of narrative and game, rather than those things taken on their own, is important to me:

It's my skillset.  I'm an excellent programmer, a good game designer and of at least amateur competence in other relevant disciplines.  My prose-writing experience is limited.

Immersion and exploration.  I cannot quite name the visceral feelings I have when given an opportunity to navigate an unfamiliar space with a body which is not my own.  When I project myself into that situation and begin to explore with the mobility available to me, a depth of experience is something I treasure profoundly.

(When the space being explored is not only physical but narrative, more tangible thoughts and emotions can be built upon that basis -- but is this an afterthought?)

Agency in narrative.  Games let us make decisions, which adds to the emotional and mental situations we can create for our audience.  Unique to our palette are regret, reward, indecision, confusion, frustration, attachment, protectiveness, malice, playfulness and numerous others.  If we use them artfully they can be powerful colors for painting a story which no other medium can.