Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411413 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 16, 2024, 06:27:10 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsDog Sled Saga
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Dog Sled Saga  (Read 1790 times)
dorkus1218
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 04, 2013, 11:59:38 PM »

Lisa and I have been working on Dog Sled Saga since December 8th, 2012, and I thought it'd be good to put it up for some feedback from other devs. I've done a lot of lurking and a few false starts on these forums, but now that I have a game coming along, I'm apt to jump back in.

We're up on Kickstarter! We're pretty proud of the video we made for it.

We are a duo: I am doing programming, game design, sound, and music, and Lisa is doing the visuals.

Racing

Dog Sled Saga is about racing a team of variable size, whose speed is determined by their hunger, which you suppress by lobbing a limited supply of treats to them. The rate at which they get hungry is randomized. We're trying to make it hard to spam food at a set interval--the dogs give signals that they're getting hungry before their speed actually dips.

A number of environmental hazards make this difficult. Current set:

• Trees will deflect your throws
  • Wind will make your aimer less predictable
  • Boulders need to be jumped over--failure results in a hit to speed
  • The distance between restock points is the core challenge

In the long run, the parameters of each race will be randomized, but for now we have a preset race list (object placement within a race is randomized.)

Team

The other half of the game is managing your team, which is where I hope is the area where we can make the game feel really rich:

• Races win you money to pay monthly dues for non-beginner leagues, hire new dogs, possibly buy some consumable items, gear, etc.