Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411469 Posts in 69368 Topics- by 58422 Members - Latest Member: daffodil_dev

April 23, 2024, 03:41:36 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsFaster Blaster = Metroid + Blaster Master Mash-up
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Faster Blaster = Metroid + Blaster Master Mash-up  (Read 13076 times)
FrankForce
Level 2

This tepid water is tasteless.

View Profile WWW
« on: April 06, 2013, 09:16:39 AM »

Hello, I've been working on Faster Blaster for about 2 years as a side project from my industry job.  I'd like to wrap it up by about this time next year.  At this point it's a fully playable adventure of about 3 hours in length.  What I mainly want to do over the next year is polish the gameplay, improve the tutorial, add more enemies types, music, a tiny bit of story, and more player abilities.

This game was made using my own open source game engine which was written from scratch.  It features a custom dynamic lighting system that I hope gives it a unique enough look.  The world is huge and streams on the fly.  Everything in the game was created by me except the music.  It can be played with WASD+Mouse, Xbox 360 controller or even a SNES gamepad (though that is the most difficult option it's kind of fun).

The art style and gameplay were heavily inspired by the original Metroid and Blaster Master for NES but this is a completely original work.  No art or sounds were directly ripped off or copied.  I hope players aren't too distracted by it's resemblance, but that was one of my goals and I don't plan on doing another art pass.  I will improve some of the art and add new things but the style itself will not change.  With so many projects going on I simply don't have the time to work on art, I want to focus on gameplay!