Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411508 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 08:34:32 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsHow to approach "adding a particular feature" using Gamemaker?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to approach "adding a particular feature" using Gamemaker?  (Read 2004 times)
aku286
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 14, 2013, 01:41:54 AM »

i am a newbie to gamemaker ,have done some tutorials and want to start making my own games. i am trying to make a space shooter where the spaceship can rotate and use its recoil to navigate.

But i cant seem to understand how to implement that stuff. i have been trying to look it up but whenever i do that it takes lot of time to look through all the irrelevant stuff to finally arrive at what i want. Do i just read through all the documentation of gamemaker?
Does that make any sense? It is frustrating.
i know this is not easy, so i wanted to know how you guys did it when you started out.

inb4 i did the tutorials from derek yu and have been playing with grandma engine of matt.
Barch
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 02:30:21 AM »

I have been using game maker since 2001 meaning that I have used it as my mental states have changed - it has followed me in my path of religion. My understanding of the world, friends have been made some left some abandoned but along that path when I get home I have always had game maker. It has walked with me for a very long time - I understand a bit she gives me clarity of the movements of myself and the world.
-
So if the barch was to apply himself to his life and draw a similar situation of that of you are encountering now then I shall.

read the manual

read it good - print it out in fact.