Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411279 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 05:15:16 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)pygame vs pyglet
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: pygame vs pyglet  (Read 10204 times)
winterkill
Level 0

Shpadoinkle!

View Profile
« on: November 04, 2008, 12:50:59 AM »

I'm trying to decide between pygame and pyglet to kick off some new projects. I have some experience with python (but nothing related to games) and love the language (which is why I want to use it rather than C++). This would be my first real foray into game development, hopefully culminating in a couple of platformers.

Does anyone have experience with both of these packages? I'm leaning toward pyglet at the moment because it's based on OpenGL (which I have a little experience with) rather than SDL and seems like it would be more cross-platform friendly. The pyglet project also seems a little more active, and I think I prefer their aesthetic to the pygame folk's.

Any opinions?
Michael Buckley
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 01:09:33 AM »

I recommend following your instinct on this one. SDL is not a bad library by any means, but it's not as powerful as OpenGL. In my limited experience with pygame and pyglet, they're both fine libraries.
george
Level 7

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 08:12:04 AM »

Having started off with Pygame and then pyglet, I definitely prefer pyglet. The downside at the moment is fewer games to look at and less documentation, though the documentation still is pretty good. I like OpenGL and pyglet's event framework in particular, and the Cocos project for pyglet is pretty interesting as well.