Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 03:42:18 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsScrolling Shooter Tutorial Updated!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Scrolling Shooter Tutorial Updated!  (Read 7410 times)
Venks
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 25, 2013, 01:03:33 PM »

So back in 2009 I downloaded a program called Game Maker 7 and taught myself how to make a couple silly games. It's 2014 now and I have a lot of experience under my belt. Yoyo Games has recently released its new program Game Maker Studio for free and I have started a tutorial series in celebration.

This is the first tutorial series I've ever written so any suggestions or general feed back would be highly appreciated!

--------------------------------------------

Part 1: Let's Make A Game
Part 2: Scoring and Shooting!
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 06:45:45 PM by Venks » Logged
Venks
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2013, 06:33:52 AM »

Game Maker: Scrolling Shooter Tutorial - Part 1

Welcome to my first tutorial! Here I'll be showing you how to use Game Maker to make a Scrolling Shooter game like Galaga or Gradius. This tutorial is for people unfamiliar with Game Maker. Let's have fun learning how to make a game!

To follow this tutorial you'll need to download...

Game Maker Studio which you can download for free here.
Alternatively you can also use an older version of Game Maker if you prefer.

You'll also need to download these sprites.

Alright once Gamer Maker is fully installed boot it up and let's get going. Select the 'New' tab at the top, choose where you want to save your project, and give it a cool name like DivineSpace_Tut01.