Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411471 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58423 Members - Latest Member: antkind

April 23, 2024, 10:36:06 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsGame Maker: Optimizing For Speed/Memory
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Game Maker: Optimizing For Speed/Memory  (Read 122777 times)
Derek
Bastich
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: November 25, 2008, 07:32:45 PM »

Optimizing Your Game Maker Game

Intro: Since I'm a pretty mediocre programmer, I often go for an easy solution to my coding problems rather than an efficient one.  Game Maker is kind of notorious for being slow anyway, so it didn't take long for me to hit its limits.  But with a little research, and some good advice from experienced GM users, I started to make some optimizations to my game that significantly increased its speed.  And now I pass that knowledge down to you!

Here are some tips, from what I think is the most important, to leaster.

1. Deactivate/Destroy Unused Instances

Object instances slow down Game Maker a LOT.  I've heard that ~50 instances is the most that you should have awake at once.  And the more work an object is doing each step, the slower it will be, so take care to make sure nothing is awake if it's not needed.

To that effect, instance_destroy() and instance_deactivate() are your friends.  Try deactivating anything that's outside of the player's view, and destroy anything that's outside of the room.

For example, put this in the Step Event of an invisible object that sits in each level:

Code:
instance_deactivate_region(view_xview[0], view_wview[0], view_hview[0], false, true);
instance_activate_region(view_xview[0], view_yview[0], view_wview[0], view_hview[0], true);