Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 05:18:02 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingStarLords3K a Strategic 4X Space Game
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: StarLords3K a Strategic 4X Space Game  (Read 10467 times)
mahks
Level 0

Mahks

View Profile WWW
« on: December 14, 2013, 03:07:35 AM »

Hello all;

This is my intro & "why I did it" post, see the following post for info about my game.

I am a Canadian living Thailand. I spend most of my time coding, reading, eating and cycling.

I've been developing an on-line 4X space game for about 6 years. Been play testing with a small group for the last few years and it is running smoothly, so I decided to open it up to a wider group last September. And ran up against a huge problem that I had not foreseen. I assumed that with all the forums & gamers out there I would get a few dozen play testers in no time. Nope! Only a few have responded to my posts on dozens of forums.

I think the main problem is the graphics, I have no artistic ability, so the game is lacking in that department. I am assuming it is that first impression that is killing the response. Those that do get past the visual hurdle, seem to be impressed with the game (assuming 4X is a genre they have interest in)

The other hurdle is, it is heavily strategic. There is no tactical component. Some have called the game "cerebral". How do you promote a cerebral game without being boring?

Anyway enough about my problems...

Why would I create yet another 4X space game?
Because all 4X I have played had poor AI and a lack of strategic & diplomatic scope.

I define strategy as the following :