Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411274 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 03:48:53 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsKODAMA - 2D Hand Painted Physics platformer - KICKSTARTING
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: KODAMA - 2D Hand Painted Physics platformer - KICKSTARTING  (Read 16059 times)
Dan_Tsukasa
« on: January 24, 2014, 06:12:02 PM »

Hey everyone, I'm Dan, this is my first post after lurking about on the forum for a while, so I figured I'd use it to introduce myself along with my game Kodama. I'm a 3D Artist with a background in film & game, currently designing my own game whilst working on the wonderful A Hat in Time.

So What is Kodama?

Kodama is physics based 2D Platformer set in the Genroku period of Japanese history (1868-1704).

Kodama is about Kodama, our tree spirit protagonist, with his mountain forest home burned to the ground, and all the Yokai (spirits, demons,ghosts) hiding in fear, Kodama is sent on a journey by Amaterasu (The Sun goddess) to discover the cause of the darkness and put an end to it.

The 2 below images are ingame screenshots, not concepts.

And for anyone wanting to see those 2 images at a higher quality than the forums allow:

http://i.imgur.com/AFcj10j.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/sShJKmh.jpg

Update 5: A quick video to show some movement going on.

Game Mechanics and Features

Players will have to run, jump, climb, push and pull objects to solve puzzles in order to traverse several unique and challenging environments.

Progressing requires not only Platforming, but also a unique ability to question the objects and world around you and how to use them to your advantage.

The game features no GUI; instead the characters status is depicted by his physical condition bought on by the amount of water or sunlight absorbed.