Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411196 Posts in 69314 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: feakk

March 18, 2024, 07:07:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsTimespinner: 2D Metroidvania with time travel
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Timespinner: 2D Metroidvania with time travel  (Read 12674 times)
Lunais
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 01, 2014, 06:46:49 PM »

Hello everyone! Here's the game that I've been working on for the past several years. It's called Timespinner and it's a pixelly Metroidvania, with art styles similar to late SNES and early PSX sprite-based titles.

The story is about Lunais, an orphaned girl who obtains the Timespinner, a relic which allows the user to control the flow of time. Using her new-found abilities, she seeks revenge on her family's killers: an evil empire ruled by a ruthless man. With the capability to travel through time, a single girl will decimate any entire empire from the past to the present.

The player abilities are tied to the Timespinner and Lunais' innate Aura powers. Her Aura allows her to manifest weapons (such as orbs or swords) and the Timespinner allows her to slow, stop, and travel through time. While other platformers, such as Castlevania or Megaman, use small amounts of time manipulation, this game will rely heavily on it for core mechanics and boss fights. For example, while time is stopped, enemies become solid platforms and world objects behave differently.

I'm also making a level/map editor that hosts a version of the game in it.

I'm currently working on the game full time. It is being developed in XNA/Monogame for PC/Mac/Steam and I plan to release a Kickstarter campaign in a couple of months.

I'm always a fan of feedback and constructive criticism- so let me know what you think!

« Last Edit: June 25, 2014, 08:31:22 PM by Lunais » Logged