Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 03:35:27 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Easier way to do pixel art?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Easier way to do pixel art?  (Read 7876 times)
PogueSquadron
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: March 25, 2014, 05:35:47 PM »

As an illustrator by trade, I'm just using Photoshop at the moment. However, I find if pretty annoying when working with multiple sprites (maybe I have a character on one later with a weapon on another). Is there any software designed with pixel animation for games in mind? I'm using Game Maker Studio at the moment.

It can also be a pain because I like to keep each piece of animation on a layer (easier to line things up) and then I have to save each later individually. I know there's a way to export each layer as its own image, but I've found it to be kind of clumsy (and doesn't work if I have, say, a drop shadow on their own layers).

Any advice? I'm so overreliant on Photoshop for everything and would love if there's an easier way to do things.
sakuyo
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 06:20:38 PM »

I've heard very good things about graphicsgale - a lot of people here use it. I believe there's also a thread or two around here devoted to tools in general including art software.
sharbelfs
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 06:26:19 PM »

i've heard about graphicsgale too, but i am used to the photoshop.

but if you are interest, in the pixel prospector they have a big list of softwares too, you can try.

http://www.pixelprospector.com/the-big-list-of-graphics-programs-windows-edition/

J. R. Hill
Level 10

hi

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2014, 09:29:18 PM »

Once you go Graphicsgale you never go backicsgale.