Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 05:49:10 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsVinkelvolt - 2D platform puzzler with 3D perspective rotation
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Vinkelvolt - 2D platform puzzler with 3D perspective rotation  (Read 4434 times)
davidhallgren
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 04, 2014, 12:42:37 PM »

Hi,
just joined the forum and as stated in my self introduction this is my first attempt at developing a simple game (not counting a Flappy Bird clone to truly learn the basics of Xcode, Objective C, etc...  Embarrassed).

First some basic information:
  • The game is called Vinkelvolt (a word in Swedish made up of "Vinkel" meaning angle and "volt" meaning flip/somersault which somehow seemed fitting). It is a simple platform puzzler with the objective of moving your character (currently represented by a red sphere) to a goal. A core mechanic of the game is perspective rotation à la Ortho Robot, Fez, Crush etc. Having only played Ortho Robot (but seen videos of the others) I am not yet sure about all similarities/differences. This might clearly make the game very derivative in its design but I hope to make it more unique by adding more platform elements compared to Ortho Robot, such as moving platform, dangerous obstacles etc. I have also not seen a similar game on iOS which is what I am targeting.
  • Each level is intended to be quite short and stars are earned for (1) completing the level, (2) completing the level faster than a time objective, (3) completing the level using fewer perspective rotations than a specific maximum.