Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:47:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignFuture of space combat
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Future of space combat  (Read 593 times)
Chianese
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 29, 2014, 07:46:41 AM »

Hi,
longtime lurker, first time poster here. What follows is a pretty damn nerdy post. Smiley I'm no game designer myself (not yet atleast), I've only dabbled a bit in 3d and done some pixel art, but I've long been into gaming and atleast as long into literary science fiction. I apologize for my rambling post, but this is an subject that interests me and I suspect someone else might've thought about it too.

I recently started re-reading M John Harrison's masterful science fiction novel Light a couple of days ago. It's just an amazing book, exhilarating and fresh, with sparse, lucid prose. Definitely one of my favorite books ever (both SF and non-SF). First read it about ten years ago or so, but re-reading it now got me thinking about how games, films and literature approach science fiction. To me, it'd seem that most science fiction games are science fiction only on the outside, with the actual mechanics of them being kind of traditional. I'm focusing more on just depictions of space combat here, but I think the same applies to other fields too.

The aforementioned novel Light has many great qualities, but I think one of the standouts is the story of Seria. In the novel, Seria Mau is this girl who inhabits a "K-ship" called The White Cat, meaning she basically is the ship. I don't remember if the book tells exactly what the K-ships are, but here's a quote I borrowed from a Guardian review of the novel: