Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411482 Posts in 69370 Topics- by 58426 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 02:08:31 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Branching dialogue in Game Maker?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Branching dialogue in Game Maker?  (Read 13322 times)
denzgd
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: August 08, 2014, 09:44:18 PM »

Hello all! I'm working in the latest version of Game Maker Studio, and I'm trying to do branching dialogue. For the last week and a half, I've been searching 'the Google machine' for any modern tutorial to learn how to handle it. I keep running into a few issues. Mainly, I can't find any relevant Game Maker Studio tutorials; most are older versions, which use a series of obsolete functions. I don't know what they do, and I'm still relatively new to GML so I am unable to work around it. Other tutorials are for smaller projects, like scrolling space shooters, simple tower defense games, etc. I have found a few example projects as alternatives to an actual tutorial, but they suffer from the same problems, and I'm not experienced enough to understand what's going on in their complex blocks of GML.

I would love somebody to give me some advice here. Specifically, I'd love any recent Game Maker Studio tutorials you can point me to - in particular those that cover dialogue fairly well. Thanks in advance! Any input is appreciated.

fraxcell
Level 5

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 08:09:41 PM »