Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 02:29:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralPracticing Game Design while on a non-games day job - any tips?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Practicing Game Design while on a non-games day job - any tips?  (Read 745 times)
tri-pancakes
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 05, 2014, 01:13:03 PM »

I've been following some topics here for a while, one of them being "Your Day Job And You, as a Developer" (http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=42207.0), and it resonated within me since I'm currently facing a similar dilemma... I love making games, but currently I'm a Programmer on a non-game related job from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m (for about 6 months). It involves coding new stuff that uses cocos2d-x as a rendering engine - which is kinda good and "transferable" to a future job in games development, but it's still not related directly with games.

During college I did get my hands on some nice learning projects that helped me get started, but after my Master's Thesis project and the start of my programming job, I haven't started any new projects. Half the times I get home at the end of the day, I'm too tired to experiment with anything and just talk with my girlfriend or do light-reading - instead of diving into more work and potential headaches that could stress me even further.

This has been taking a toll on me for the past couple of months, since I know deep down that not doing anything game-related during my free time will kill every opportunity I might have to land a job on games development in the near future. To counter that and keep my games' flame alive, I recently decided to invest in myself during that free time and work on my weakest skills as an indie game developer.