Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411432 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58417 Members - Latest Member: gigig987

April 20, 2024, 05:33:40 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Game Maker for Beginners: Part III
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Print
Author Topic: Game Maker for Beginners: Part III  (Read 128987 times)
Derek
Bastich
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: January 15, 2009, 04:41:30 AM »

Game Maker For Beginners: Part III

Main Topics: Views, Backgrounds

Level: Total newb to Game Maker.  Suitable for programming nubs, also.

Abstract: We're going to make a simple, one-level side-scrolling shoot 'em up using Game Maker and GML.  In this third part, we're going to create a scrolling level using views and backgrounds.

Introduction

(T.V. narration) Last week, on Game Maker for Beginners...

We let you go Michael Bay on a game's ass.  Now, we're going to create a level that scrolls.  Because even in a Michael Bay movie, explosions aren't simply enough.  If a truck carrying flammable liquids blows up, it also has to skid down the freeway and blow up 50 other cars (and possibly an airplane, too).

Let's build that freeway.

Creating a View

So we have rooms, which are like a "set" for our game.  Now we need to create a camera to film the action.  Most games have at least one camera, whether it's a first person shooter (camera fixed in front of the face) or an RTS (camera looking down on the action) or what have you.  In Game Maker these are called "views."  In our game, we're going to make the view scroll from left to right.