Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 01:39:26 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingPapilio - A Fantasy Scrolling Shooter
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Papilio - A Fantasy Scrolling Shooter  (Read 2540 times)
S20-TBL
Level 0

Cool Old Guy

View Profile
« on: September 11, 2014, 11:36:57 PM »

Greetings! It's my first time actually posting this game here on TIGSource even though it's been featured for a while on the Shmups development forum and Supershigi's forum, so here goes:

Papilio v0.35 Demo Download

This game is aimed to be closer to 80's and 90's horizontal scrolling shmups like Final Mission/S.C.A.T., Forgotten Worlds, Chariot and Gun Hohki than it is to modern danmakus. While there are certain aspects of Manic Shooters in this game, I consciously made a decision to reject the Bullet Hell design archetype, which I honestly consider to be a mutation of the genre, in favor of a more classical approach.

Video of the previous version's gameplay here (v0.27):

Screenshots:

DEFAULT CONTROLS:

Keyboard Player 1
  • Z: Shoot Left (also Left Mouse Button in 1P Mode)
  • X: Shoot Right (also Right Mouse Button in 1P Mode)
  • C: Use Astra (Bomb) (also Middle Mouse Button in 1P Mode)
  • Enter: Pause
  • Up Arrow: Move Up
  • Down Arrow: Move Down
  • Left Arrow: Move Left
  • Right Arrow: Move Right
Keyboard Player 2
  • Q: Shoot Left
  • W: Shoot Right
  • E: Use Astra (Bomb)
  • I: Move Up
  • K: Move Down
  • J: Move Left
  • L: Move Right
Mouse (either player)
  • Left Button: Shoot Left
  • Right Button: Shoot Right
  • Middle Button: Use Astra (Bomb)
  • Move Mouse: Move character (character follows cursor)
Joystick / Gamepad (either player)
  • Button 4: Shoot Left
  • Button 1: Shoot Right
  • Button 6: Use Astra (Bomb)