Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 05:57:13 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioMusic theory and sheet reading
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Music theory and sheet reading  (Read 1076 times)
medieval
« on: September 13, 2014, 04:31:30 AM »

I've been playing and composing music for about 5 years now. I've been blessed with an absolute ear and am able to learn a lot of pieces by hearing, and can tell you exactly what notes are being played at a given time; but my ability to read sheet music is very limited. When trying to learn more complex pieces, I find it impractical to have to rewind a youtube video repeatedly and listen to the exact notes being played until I memorize them well enough to play them on my guitar. The last piece that I learned with this method is

. Especially when I try to learn some piano pieces, this process is very slow. I can never hope to learn Chopin preludes or

if I don't become efficient at sheet reading. Understanding notes, chords, intervals etc. is all good and well and it works when I'm composing, but for learning to play complicated pieces I just have to be able to play from reading.

Now, my question is: What is a good way to go at it? I've found this website that has some clef reading exercises, but I'd prefer having sheet music of a bunch of simple pieces (in different keys!!!!) that an illiterate like me can learn from.

Please help!
MoritzPGKatz
Level 3

"Was he an animal, that music could move him so?"

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 06:43:12 AM »

Hey,

Your best bet is a good teacher who'll offer specific exercises, answer technical questions (e.g about fingering) and help selecting literature that fits your learning progress.