Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411279 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 05:13:12 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralEveryone knows how to make games better than you do.
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Everyone knows how to make games better than you do.  (Read 2339 times)
alvarop
Level 9

ignorant

View Profile WWW
« on: September 15, 2014, 08:45:17 AM »

Let me just start off by saying that I make games for fun, as a hobby. I am not a professional and not as skilled as many people here, but I'm sure you have experienced what I'm about to talk about.

Every - single - time I tell someone I make games or I'm interested in making games, they always know what I should do and how I should do it, even though they have never, ever made anything that ressembles a game.

. "Make a game about X and Y, it will sell."
. "You need to do some market research."
. They give me design advice that doesn't make any sense in the context of the game.
. etc.

I'm not making this thread to bitch about this, but maybe to share similar experiences and to try to understand what makes "games" a medium in which people feel like they always know better than those that make the games -  besides the fact that it's a popular media form. The same happens for movies, books and music - amongst others - I'm sure, but I'm wondering what makes it so easy for people to voice their opinion in that way, specifically when it comes to video-games. Also, I want to listen to your stories about this, I'm sure there's some funny ones out there.

edit : maybe I'm bitching.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 08:52:59 AM by alvarop » Logged

i make games that can only ever be played once on http://throwaway.fun
Alevice
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 09:16:59 AM »