Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 11:27:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWhat makes a resource collection game *fun*? (I have half an idea...)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What makes a resource collection game *fun*? (I have half an idea...)  (Read 1410 times)
relicsman
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 15, 2014, 11:45:36 AM »

Hey, I'm new around here and am just interested in your thoughts...

I'm also new to development and programming, and am working on a resource collecting game where you start in ancient times, piecing together resources like wood or stone to make tools or equipment typical of that age. Once you have the correct items, the game progresses and again, you have to piece together items using resources. Only as the ages progress, the variety of resources that appear would increase, in addition to their rarity. Some resources would only be found on mountains, or in fields, or by rivers, and so on - meaning there would be a large exploration element too. There would be enemies and a hunger mechanic, meaning gathering food would be important too. Ultimately, the final aim might be to build a rocket.

The game would be 2D and kinda retro with a basic control system (hey, I'm new to programming - and this is a good place to start). I'd be working with retro 2d sprites and a kind of grid reminiscent of pokemon. And the most important thing? Procedural generation - the game could play out differently every time, sending you to different places in the game each time, and so on.