Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 07:37:02 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopArt direction feedback
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Art direction feedback  (Read 1346 times)
duncankeller
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 01, 2014, 07:15:32 PM »

Programmer by trade attempting to create art for his side-project - Brace yourselves!

I'm working on a project at home, and I'm pretty early-on in development. I have a finished grayboxed prototype, and I want to get started with art earlier than I normally do so that I can space the work out a little better and not burn myself out on it. That being said, I'm not an artist. Not by a long shot. I know that I'm not going to make the next _INSERT_GOOD_LOOKING_GAME_HERE_ but I'm at least shooting for "doesn't look like crap."

I made a makega.me thread workshopping some ideas with smaller-res sizes, and progressed to the point where I wanted to start creating assets. I created a full-resolution background and a couple basic animations for the main character. Evaluating it, I don't think it's totally awful, but I know some real artists would be able to pick out some tips or changes that I never would have thought of.

So yeah, long story short, what do ya think? Any tips for improvement? Also, I realize I made it pretty explicit I am not an artist, but seriously, any terms/jargon will sail over my head. I experienced this in my last thread, reading more advanced replies with a dumbfounded look on my face. Picture a kid with crayons in his mouth and you'll have a good idea about my art knowledge.

Background with character pasted on top (compression up the butt, bummer):
http://i.imgur.com/XW3dR50.jpg