Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411492 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 04:39:01 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)thinking parallel multiplayer game, need some pointers
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: thinking parallel multiplayer game, need some pointers  (Read 1176 times)
nikki
Level 10

View Profile
« on: October 08, 2014, 05:07:20 AM »

Hiya,

I am new to building multiplayer games, I've followed the socket.io tutorial and now I have a chat program which is hardly relevant...

The game I want to make is a parallel turnbased tactical shooting game (with a planning phase and a execution phase).
It wil be playable by something like 8 humans at once, also AI opponents should be possible and many (100) civilians.
You as player control a group (maximum 20-ish) of agents

I've put a bit of thinking into it and I think I have a plan for  the planning stage:
while in the planning phase you create a stack per agent of actions it would try to do in the execution phase, at the end of the planning phase all that data is sent to the server.
The server generates actions for the civilians and AI opponents.

What I don't really know is how to handle the execution phase, my naive idea would be to -after the planning phase- first let the server play out the whole execution step in memory, and then to send back some kind of animation description to all clients.

However when the game would run at 60fps and there would be 100+ agents and a execution phase of 3 seconds I think this is not doable. (60 * 3 * 100) = 18000 steps, if those would contain a bit of data I quickly get at tens of megabytes of data that need to be send to each client. at each phase beginning.

At all you guys who have experience in these things, what would be a good way to tackle this?