Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 05:27:35 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Building A Releasable Game With Python?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Building A Releasable Game With Python?  (Read 2030 times)
Kyle Preston
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: October 12, 2014, 10:25:41 AM »

So I'm mainly a musician/sound designer, I took about a years worth of programming (C++) courses before I graduated. Post graduation, I learned Python and played around a good long while with it building my own little projects (text adventure games, Hangman, stuff like that).

I wrote some music for a game that hasn't been made yet; I spent a short amount of time looking for a developer interested in working with me, but ultimately, decided that this is something I'm going to have to do on my own.  I'm trying to build a game based on the themes and narrative of the music and I really love the idea of starting with music first, then building a game rather than the other way around.

Anyway, I'm semi-fluent in Python, and I know that languages tend to have similar attributes (you say properties and methods, I say classes and objects), but I'm wondering if anyone has used (or knows how to use) Python to create a game that could potentially be released publicly (i.e. need only a browser to play). From what I understand, games made in Pygame can't really be put in a web browser, and after playing with Unity, it looks like I'd need to learn C# or JavaScript; for the sake of time, I'd rather not learn a whole new language if I can avoid it. Should I bite the bullet and learn JavaScript or is there some unity equivalent that plays nicely with Python?

Has anyone tried this with Panda 3D or Crystal Space?