Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411511 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 01:54:00 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)3d renders for background
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 3d renders for background  (Read 1010 times)
sheep herd
« on: October 17, 2014, 01:00:44 AM »

I want to use 3d renders for the background of my game. I'm not well versed in 3d modelling but it will essentially just be cubes and cuboids. I am wondering what software would best to use for this. I was thinking of using sketchup with a render plugin because I have some experience with it and its super easy but wonder if blender (which I have a tiny bit of experience with) or something else would be infinitely better (bearing in mind I don't want to have to spend a long time learning anything and that I'm mostly modelling simple buildings).

As well as this I will need to flatten the field of view and wonder if something like sketchup would even have this capability.

Thanks.
Muffinhat
Level 0

COVERED IN BEES HELP

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 12:42:09 PM »

Blender is the almighty deity of free modeling software. I would recommend looking at tutorials for it (it really doesn't have a steep learning curve).
RyanB
Level 0

FIRE + SKULLS = AWESOME

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2014, 05:08:05 AM »