Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411425 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 08:33:38 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)TutorialsContext-Safe Vector structs in C#
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Context-Safe Vector structs in C#  (Read 1666 times)
Layl
Level 3

professional jerkface

View Profile WWW
« on: October 18, 2014, 05:59:13 PM »

Before reading this tutorial:
I just ran into having to solve this issue myself so I decided to write a quick tutorial about it now that I've solved it. I'm by no means an expert on T4 or code generation in general so please correct me in places where I'm wrong or do things in incorrect ways. Also be aware that code generation generally isn't the answer to your issues, this is just one bit where it seemed to be like the perfect solution.

With that said, let's start!

So you're writing your game, and you end up having to represent in-game or on-screen positions in some way. The first thing you'll probably go to is whatever types the libraries or frameworks you use provide. However, after a while you might notice certain bugs keep creeping in. Little stuff like, you're adding position to a direction. Or you're adding a world distance to a screen position. Things that don't quite make sense conceptually but that your code happily accepts since it's all Vector3s.

You could say your code doesn't check what context something is being used in. It's not context-safe. We can solve this! Let's create a bunch of types specifically for our different contexts. Don't start implementing them yet, we'll get to that later.

Code:
public struct WorldPosition { /* Only allows distance addition. */ }
public struct WorldDistance { /* Only allows distance addition. */ }