Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 08:53:00 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralThe Impostor Syndrome in Game Development
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: The Impostor Syndrome in Game Development  (Read 2376 times)
Artylo
Level 0

I'm just a voice, pal - a most talented failure, b

View Profile WWW
« on: October 19, 2014, 11:46:35 AM »

Before I start, play some

. You'll thank me later. Noir

So...
Seeing myself as a fairly new developer, even if I've been making small projects since around 2011 , making a small prototype of things I think of in the bath or at school and also going to countless game jams, I still have that empty void in my soul, which kicks in every time I try taking up a more serious project.
Mostly due to my young age and inexperience, I've found myself working alone in the cold nights and questioning my worth in this field.
I used to post some clones on TIG, at which I look at today in great shame. I categorized them as "a learning project" or a "breakable toy", which was just a lame way to say that I was very uncreative and lacked the skills necessary to make an original project.
A few years later(aka now) I find myself thinking the same way as the people who critiqued me when I had posted those "games". Even now I feel like I don't belong in the community of game developers, but somehow I still feel like I don't need to prove myself in a way.

Game development has been more of a hobby to me. I consider myself one of those "game dev hippies", who think games are more of an interactive art form than simply a means of entertainment.