Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 04:53:21 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallFormicarium: Dwarf Fortress plus Ants and Genetics
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Formicarium: Dwarf Fortress plus Ants and Genetics  (Read 1391 times)
bersaelor
Level 0

mathematician&programmer

View Profile WWW
« on: October 31, 2014, 04:43:22 AM »

So, yes, I too was playing Dwarf Fortress and thought (while my third fortress flourished and I just made my first adamantine sword) :
 "this is so great, so much detail! these dwarfs look like my own personal busy ant-hive, wait someone should totally make a game about an ant-hive controlled like dwarfs in DF!"

Being a mathematician by trade (like toady) I got slightly distracted for a month, putting lots of effort into realistic plantlife (properties and colors based on their genes, reproduction, usage of nutrients based on groundmaterial etc) and now heavily working on more commands I can give my little ants.
The simulation-core is written in C++, the current 2D graphic-layer in Apples Spritekit, I was planning to move it to Cocos2D at some point, but the SpriteKit enabled my iPad to show 200 agents in one screen without dropping fps.

here's a (programmer-art) picture of an ant I selected to check it's current metabolism:

A friend of mine volunteered to narrate a short video recently, and I'm still missing input from the pro-simgame-crowd:

« Last Edit: November 22, 2014, 02:30:52 AM by bersaelor » Logged
bersaelor
Level 0

mathematician&programmer

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2014, 02:34:51 AM »

Over on the bay12 forums I answered a lot of questions regarding the game, here's the http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=145261.0.