Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 08:13:27 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)What Kind Of Math Will I Need To Learn For Programming?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: What Kind Of Math Will I Need To Learn For Programming?  (Read 3254 times)
The Sane Psycho
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 31, 2014, 01:47:40 PM »

So, a few years ago, it was my dream to be a video game developer. Eventually, I gave up on that dream. However, recently, I decided to once again pursue that dream. Now, I know that I will need to know some math before I start learning programming (in case you're wondering, I have no programming experience whatsoever). I know I will at least need algebra. I was just wondering what other kinds of math I will need to learn before I start programming. If it helps, I plan to start with Python, then learn Visual Basic, and then learn C#, and finally, learn C++. Those are the ones I plan on learning, but I'll probably learn a few others along the way. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 01:52:57 PM by The Sane Psycho » Logged
zacaj
Level 3

void main()

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 01:51:14 PM »

Trig, almost definitely.  Beyond that it depends on the types of games you plan to make. 

My twitter: @zacaj_

Quote from: mcc
Well let's just take a look at this "getting started" page and see--
Download and install cmake
Noooooooo
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2014, 01:55:23 PM »