Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 06:04:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessShould I do a Kickstarter? What experience have you had with it?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Should I do a Kickstarter? What experience have you had with it?  (Read 1478 times)
LucasMaxBros
Level 2

My body is ready.

View Profile WWW
« on: November 10, 2014, 12:18:08 AM »

So after doing a lot of research I'm heavily considering doing a Kickstarter for my game, "Quad Knight". I plan on releasing the 3.0 Demo soon for testing. The game is sort of like a cross between Yoshi's Island, Kirby, and Castlevania (Oldschool).

1080p Demo Game play: 

I've been developing it for seven months now, my only other help is four other composers who are only doing the music. The rest of this was created by me. And it's been quite the work. I really want to make it look better, with better animations and effects. I also want an animated trailer and voice acting, but I'm not exactly rich.

I have been doing the estimates and thinking long and hard EXACTLY what I need to do what I want to make this game look its best.

So, who here has experience with Kickstarter projects who can give me some pointers? After my first month of development, I considered Kickstarter, but I believe that's around when the whole Fez 2 thing happened... Which sort of scared me. I kinda thought that perhaps games being Kickstarted was beginning to become unpopular and that I had blown my chance.

But I'm not a bad person nor one who would ever dare deny people a promise I made, so perhaps I'll have a shot. Currently, the amount of money I would need is around $3500 USD. Is that a good goal? Lower or Higher, what are some good rewards to set up, etc?

rj
Level 10

bad, yells

View Profile WWW