Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411488 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 12:51:59 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Noisy Pixel Art Help
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Noisy Pixel Art Help  (Read 1873 times)
lucasblucas
Level 0

@lucasrowe

View Profile WWW
« on: November 15, 2014, 09:43:42 AM »

I'm trying to tackle some environment pixel art for my studio's roguelike adventure game. We are going for a toony or cel shaded pixel art style that has no border. I'm a programmer so this is all kind of new territory for me. We are referencing SNES Zelda and Earthbound a lot to force ourselves into a cartoon mindset. We are trying hard not to be too derivative of those games artistically though.

The biggest challenge we are facing is getting a toony look without either adding borders or noise. The hay stack below is the best example of this. Zelda's obstacles had only a couple colors but they had the luxury of borders to give shape and contrast. Our hay stack looks like a hay stack but has a ton of noise. I'm much happier with the look of the hay above it which has just enough detail to convey the object.

Any advice out there about how to conceptualize objects in a toonier way? We've thought of mantras like "let patterns emerge whenever possible" but I'd love to hear some thoughts from pros.

Also any advice on the tileset or style as a whole would be greatly appreciated. I'm embarrassed by the barn which I've not put my full attention towards yet.

Thanks!

Here's the tileset in action (grass is a little different):

Currently working on Sparklite .
cynicalsandel
Level 7

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2014, 02:22:44 PM »