Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 04:16:42 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralSecured Funding for My Game. What now?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Secured Funding for My Game. What now?  (Read 2885 times)
hydroxy
Level 0

Polygon Drawer

View Profile WWW
« on: December 07, 2014, 03:26:43 PM »

By day I am a lowly part time lab assistant. I'm studying to become a lab scientist in my spare time. By night part time game developer but recently I've been too busy to develop much at all. I've dreamt of quitting and going full time indie for a long time.

Thursday 4th December 2014. 3 days ago. I received an email informing me that my game has been selected from a large selection of others to be funded for development by a UK government-backed technology start-up assisting company. I will get £5000, dependent on meeting deadlines and deliverables.

I'm quitting my job when I get everything finalised. I'm still studying to become a lab scientist in my spare time as a backup plan.

My deadline is 16 weeks away (31 March 2015). I am aiming to create a puzzle platformer called Reboot Robot (http://www.blurrygames.com/category/reboot_robot). Its an unfinished project from a few years back but this time I am going to create it and polish it like a gem because it represents the most real chance at full time indie game development that I will undoubtedly have.

The game was originally made in Game Maker. I am starting now with a blank slate. The game needs to be remade in Game Maker: Studio to utilise its export capabilities and its the only engine I am familar with right now.

If I could press the "Save Game" button now I would, but it doesn't exist and I can't reload.

So much depends on me not f*cking this up. This could change my life.