Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411482 Posts in 69370 Topics- by 58426 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 02:08:27 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralIs Game Development Becoming Less Common?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: Is Game Development Becoming Less Common?  (Read 5382 times)
hydroxy
Level 0

Polygon Drawer

View Profile WWW
« on: December 08, 2014, 03:38:03 PM »

I've been kind of out of touch with indie gaming for a while. I've been too busy developing games to have a look around and see what is happening.

When I started programming a few years ago, initially I was inspired by just how many others were also doing the same thing. Now it seems somewhat less popular from what I can tell. Is that the general consensus?

Manuel Magalhães
Forum Dungeon Master
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2014, 04:03:00 PM »

I believe it's the opposite — game development is more popular than ever before, due to the increasing popularity of video games and because game development is getting more accessible for everyone. Ten years ago I had to go to places like indygamer.blogspot.com (now indiegames.com) and reloaded.org (née Abandonia Reloaded) to find indie games, but now I can see them in places like Steam and in the home consoles. (although I still like to go to sites since not every indie game goes to these two platforms, I was just stating the popularity increase)

hydroxy
Level 0

Polygon Drawer

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2014, 04:07:30 PM »

That is undeniably true.

However I think maybe in the last year or so it seems that some of that popularity has begun to fade a small bit. Maybe I am wrong though, it could be the sites that I visit just have been declining in recent years in general in terms of visitors and thus new content.

ANtY
Level 10