Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 07:37:41 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignIs Firstness possible in games?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Is Firstness possible in games?  (Read 909 times)
KohD
Level 0

I believe there's nothing to believe

View Profile
« on: December 15, 2014, 04:03:27 PM »

I'm studying about Charles Sanders Peirce and his theories about semiotics and so. Then I came into a tough question: Can we achieve Firstness in games?

For those who aren't familiar with the expression here's some quotes:

Wikipedia: "Firstness is the mode of being that of which is such as it is, positively and without reference to anything else.
Secondness is the mode of being that which is such as it is, with respect to a second but regardless of any third.
Thirdness is the mode of being that which is such as it is, in bringing a second and third into relation to each other."

Random Blog(synthetic knowledge):  Firstness is a quality, Peirce says firstness does not refer to anything nor does it lie behind anything else. The first is that which whose being is simply in itself (1. 356). It is the sensation of having only one thing occupying your thoughts and permeating your consciousness; you are so mesmerized that you are not even aware of anything else. For example if you stare at the colour red, so that your mind becomes so infused with the redness of that red: you are not actually aware that you are experiencing anything else (This is not actually firstness but it gives you a metaphorical sense or what it is). Another example of firstness is experiencing the absolute present directly (if that were ever possible!). It is a kind of unmediated meditative state without unity and without parts, it just "is."