Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 04:15:54 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeProgrammer creating a spec for a pixelartist
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Programmer creating a spec for a pixelartist  (Read 1670 times)
kvisle
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 17, 2014, 04:58:00 AM »

Hi,

I'm looking to copartner / hire a pixelartist for my game - and I've run into a "problem" that I suspect isn't that uncommon: To actually give the pixelartist useful instructions on what needs to be produced, and the rules of how this can be applied gently into the game engine.

As a programmer, I have a very technical view of how things are working together.  I've spoken to pixelartists that range from not technical at all, to having a deep technical understanding of how a game engine work.

I wonder if any artists could share any experiences that you have on receiving instructions from a programmer.  What went good, what went bad - what should the programmer focus on to get the most out of the artist?
Canned Turkey
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2014, 10:35:50 AM »

I'm looking to copartner / hire a pixelartist for my game - and I've run into a "problem" that I suspect isn't that uncommon: To actually give the pixelartist useful instructions on what needs to be produced, and the rules of how this can be applied gently into the game engine.
I don't really understand your problem.

Artists don't need to know the engine your game is running on. All they need to do is make pretty little pictures for you to put into the game, right? I mean the most knowledge of programming they'll need is the size limits of each sprite/background.