Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411413 Posts in 69360 Topics- by 58415 Members - Latest Member: sophi_26

April 16, 2024, 12:31:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)What do game developers mostly use to develop games for Steam?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What do game developers mostly use to develop games for Steam?  (Read 2865 times)
BusyRobot
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 17, 2015, 04:39:11 PM »

I've been a Flash developer for many years (also released iOS games made with Adobe AIR) and for the past 2 years I've done iOS game development. However I want to make a game for Steam (PC and Mac release) and I'm not sure which way to go with what tools/platform to use. The criteria of the game will be...

1. 2D
 2. Lots of particles effects
 3. Maybe physics (via Box2d would be useful as I know this API)
 4. Single player.

My options as far I know are...

1. Adobe AIR.
 2. Unity
 3. GameMaker

Adobe AIR. Even though I'm comfortable with AIR ,and I could use Starling, part of me feels I should branch out and learn something new and I also want to use the "best" possible tool/platform to make this game and I'm not sure that's going to be AIR. In regards to integration with the Steam SDK, ports to other platforms (consoles eventually) etc.

I've been wanting to learn Unity for a while, but it looks like a steep learning curve. The upside is it has a huge community, and there's pretty no platforms you can't port your game too. But am I going to stuck just learning how to make things happen? also it costs a fair bit to remove that Unity Splash screen.

Lastly GameMaker, which Vlambeer are using for Nuclear Throne, but you can't help but feel it's not quite a mature game making tool. Maybe that's a completely wrong conclusion but that's how it seems.