Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 03:16:16 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsCOLONY - A Horribly Ambitious Top Down Shooter By Total Noobs
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: COLONY - A Horribly Ambitious Top Down Shooter By Total Noobs  (Read 1725 times)
TheDarthMoogle
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 22, 2015, 06:38:43 AM »

At the beginning of this year, I had a look at the dozens of people that I regularly play with in The Realm, a multi-game clan I am involved with. I thought to myself, "there's got to be some people in here with the skills to put something playable together". And so it begins.

Our first meeting was spent brainstorming what kinds of game we would want to make together. Something top down, shooting lots of aliens in the face with a little bit of base defence and resource collecting. Horribly ambitious, yes. But hey, whatever.

This week we presented to each other sketches of player characters, aliens and weaponry. The quality varies, but the main objective was to promote discussion amongst ourselves rather than come up with a solid concept for each element.

Some went above and beyond in their work that week, and produced some great discussion. We decided in advance that we wanted a low poly art style, and while some sketches didn't represent that, we discussed how they would translate. We were very fond of the enemies in the above picture. We're inclined to go a bit elemental, so expect more glowy bits on them in future! DramaticDelta, the creator of the above render, has been getting all the models rigged and ready to roll out.