Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411492 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 05:19:14 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessSalary for a "Creative Writer/Designer"?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Salary for a "Creative Writer/Designer"?  (Read 1265 times)
Alder
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 26, 2015, 09:04:15 AM »

I'm applying for a position at a very reputable games studio in a position which is described as a "Creative Writer/Designer". While primarily a narrative design position, the responsibilities listed also cover ground from creation of new IP to full-on game design. I'm qualified enough to be emplotable, but the problem for me is a box at the bottom labelled "Desired salary". I have no idea what to put for it. I've never worked in the games industry before, only writing on a self-employed basis, and in-house narrative design jobs are rare enough that I honestly can't find an "average salary" figure anywhere out there for the UK. I'm young, I don't have a family to support, I'm hungry to get into the industry, but at the same time I don't want to get ripped off.

So, to anyone in the UK games industry who knows about how much I should be asking for, what would you suggest?
pottering
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2015, 11:09:38 AM »

Maybe this helps you?:

http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/221533/Game_Developer_Salary_Survey_2014_The_results_are_in.php

http://www.gamasutra.com/salarysurvey2014.pdf

https://www.develop-online.net/news/revealed-average-game-developer-salary-falls-to-32-500/0188668

I think the position you described fits the "game designer" category in those surveys.
Müsta Klaki
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2015, 08:40:54 AM »

Well this is an indie board, not really the giant of the game's industry.