Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 05:33:39 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsJobsCollaborationsLooking to create/join a small team as a hobby !
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Looking to create/join a small team as a hobby !  (Read 1066 times)
Ulydev
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 08, 2015, 01:10:38 AM »

Hello, dear developers.

I'm encountering a huge problem, which makes developing games really hard for me. That's why I'd like to talk a bit about myself first.

I started programming when I got my first computer, at the age of 10. At that time, I used to develop on easy software like GameMaker. I then moved on Corona SDK when I wanted to make mobile games : it remained my main SDK for about two years. During this time, I had the chance to develop my first released games and even got some downloads. This has been a really enriching experience for me, as I've always been dreaming about creating my own games when I was younger.
Even though I unfortunately don't know how to draw, I managed to give my games a minimalist look with a focus on gameplay rather than on art. I once tried to draw some pixel art assets for a platformer, but it didn't turn out as expected...

A few months ago, I discovered Löve2D. This Lua framework seemed perfect for me, as Ludum Dare 31 was approaching and it could publish on both desktop and mobile platforms. So, I had to learn it in a week, and it turned out absolutely great ! I had time to develop two small games which got good feedback from gamers. The first one, Swotch, even got in the Top 100 Overall and Top 25 in the Fun category.

I'm pretty much satisfied with how my first game jam entries did, although I would have preferred to work in team, with artists and/or composers.