Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 07:59:09 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Where to get started with proc gen
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Where to get started with proc gen  (Read 1470 times)
Earthling
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 21, 2015, 08:04:08 PM »

I hope this is the right place to post this.
I was wondering if there are any websites, video series, or textbooks/books, that someone could point me in the direction of that may help with learning procedural generation. I'm pretty clueless where to start right now. I'm a game dev student, and I'd like to spend some time during the summer focused on this.
Thanks!

EDIT: Interested in world, level, and city generation.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2015, 12:10:28 AM by Earthling » Logged
Cheezmeister
Level 3

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2015, 10:54:36 PM »

Procedural generation of what? It's a rather broad space.

I, for instance, am into procedural graphics (shaders, filters, particles) and audio (real-time synthesis and algorithmic composition) but a little less wild about generating levels, terrain, or NPCs.

What excites you?

෴Me෴ @chzmstr | www.luchenlabs.com ቒMadeቓ RA | Nextris | Chromathud   ᙍMakingᙌCheezus II (Devlog)
Earthling
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2015, 11:57:20 PM »

Oh, that seems rather obvious to specify. Sorry. Levels and terrain mostly. I've seen some city and building generators that interest me a bit in wanting to know how they're built as well.
Gunhead
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2015, 05:23:44 AM »

Don't know any explicit tutorials, but these things are quite simple at a fundamental level and Wikipedia would help you lots. Some keywords that would help you on your quest.