Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:42:11 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralI'm a dummy, trying to get less dumb
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: I'm a dummy, trying to get less dumb  (Read 5988 times)
Liam_Ihasz
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 25, 2015, 08:17:30 AM »

Hey guys, I'm really new to the whole game developing thing. I really love it, but i'm total crap at it. Anyway, when I made this account, I had to answer the question, what is Daisuke Amaya's nickname. I had to google him, and I was reading about him when I realized I don't really know a lot about the field I'm trying to get into. So... who else should I know? What books should I read, which online tutorials should I check out? Really this is a pretty loose topic, I was really just wondering if any of you guys had any advice for me. stuff I should know? I hope that this is the right place to ask this kind of question. Thank you so much for anyone who helps out :D
Cobralad
Cowardly Baby
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2015, 08:40:30 AM »

Welp

go play some old jap games and listen to podcasts or interviews. Tutorial and books depend on the field you want to pursue career in.
If you came here for Notch millions and not really into video games, forget about it. Gamedev is super low-payed and competitive right now, its the lowest salary for artists and programmers on the market.
Schoq
Level 10

♡∞

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2015, 08:53:09 AM »

not to mention musicians that have to pay money to get to make music for a game

♡ ♥ make games, not money ♥ ♡
Liam_Ihasz
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2015, 09:17:14 AM »